Skip to content

Meaning of fingerprints.

March 27, 2010

Handreading my first love so to speak.

Do you have unusual fingerprints?

Below are the three basic pattern types. The loop is the most common fingerprint pattern all over the world.
To identify the three patterns, note the ‘delta’, the point where lines from three directions come together. The whorl has two deltas, the loop has one (see bottom-left), and the arch has no delta at all.

Which fingerprints are most rare?

Below are some pictures of less common fingerprints patterns.
Send me a picture/scan of your palm or fingerprint if you have trouble identifying it (frvc [at] dse [dot] nl).

Double Loop
Peacock’s eye
Tented Arch

To see if you have an unusual or rare fingerprint, check which finger it is found on. For example, a radial loop is common on the index finger, but extremely rare on the little finger.

Uncommon fingerprint: less than 1 in 20 people have such a fingerprint.
Rare fingerprint: less than 1 in 100 people have such a fingerprint.
Extremely rare fingerprint: less than 1 in 1000 people have such a fingerprint.

In order from most common to most rare:

  1. Ulnar loop = a loop that comes from the pinky side of the hand
    - So common, it is quite rare NOT to have one!
  2. Whorl = a spiral pattern
    - Very common, especially on the thumb, index and ring fingers
  3. Radial loop = a loop that comes from the thumb side of the hand
    - Commonly found on index finger, uncommon on middle finger, rare on other fingers
    =====================
    UNCOMMON FINGERPRINTS:
    =====================
  4. Arch = most simple fingerprint, no loop patterns
    - Uncommon pattern on: all fingers, rare on little finger
  5. Double loop = two loops going in two directions, but is actually a type of whorl
    - Uncommon pattern on: all fingers except thumb, rare on ring and little fingers
  6. Peacock’s eye = a tiny whorl inside a loop
    - Uncommon pattern on: all fingers, most common on ring finger, rare on thumb.
    ===============
    RARE FINGERPRINTS:
    ===============
  7. Tented arch = arch pattern but horizontal ridges rising up high in the middle, creating a tent-like pattern. Note: the tented arch is often confused with a loop that looks like a tented arch. Look for any signs of a loop to check if it is a ‘real’ tented arch.
    - Rare on all fingers, extremely rare on thumb and little finger
  8. Accidental = anything else, such as horizontal rather than vertical loops
    - Rare on index finger, extremely rare on all other fingers

Source used: Fingerprints, palms and soles, Cummins, H., 1943

Character traits

Handreaders have associated fingerprints with certain character traits.

  • Loops*: flexible, adaptable, easy going, highly receptive, impressionable, unfocussed, team players.
  • Arches: down to earth, pragmatic, responsible, reserved, consistent.
  • Tented arches: hyperactive, impulsive, intense, fiery.
  • Whorls*: independent, inflexible, individualistic, highly focussed.
  • Double loop (a.k.a. composite): indecisive, uncertain, diplomatic. Some double loops look more like whorls, others are more clearly two intertwined loops. Depending on which one it is, see also the associated loop or whorl characteristics.
  • Peacock’s eye (a.k.a. central pocket loop): perfectionistic, good eye for detail. It is more of a whorl than a loop, so see also whorl characteristics.

*Note that loops and whorls are quite common – so it would take about 4+ whorls to make you a ‘whorly’ person and 7+ loops to make you a ‘loopy’ person.

Handreaders also give specific meaning to the fingers. To interpret the meaning, you need to combine all the characteristics, and this takes experience (say, getting people’s feedback from reading at least 1000 hands). But it can be fun linking the fingerprints characteristics to the individual fingers:

  • Thumb: Willpower/control
  • Index: Public image, self expression
  • Middle finger: Values, morals
  • Ring finger: Aesthetics, creativity
  • Pinky: Communication

The meaning also depends on the hand you look at – this is if you have different fingerprints on your left hand compared to your right hand:

  • Dominant hand (right if right handed): Public self
  • Passive hand: Private self

Fingerprints on your palm?

Do you have any fingerprints on your palm? Is it a loop inbetween two fingers? No? Congratulations, whatever it is automatically qualitifies as an uncommon palm pattern! One or more loops are usually found on the area of the palm between the fingers. The one between the ring finger and pinky is commonly called the ‘humor loop’, and between the ring and middle fingers is called the ‘loop of seriousness’ (draw your own conclusion about this one…but it refers to ‘type’ of humor rather than humor itself). A loop between the index and middle fingers is quite rare, and is a sign of royal lineage in Indian traditional palmistry. Some people also have loops or arches elsewhere, most commonly in the area around the base of the thumb. It is also quite common to have a loop on the side of the palm opposite the thumb, about halfway up, which is called a memory loop. A whorl print is very rare anywhere on the palm.

Fingerprints around the world

In some human populations whorls are more common, such as among aboriginal Australians, Eskimos and in some parts of Asia. Europeans tend to have more loops. Arches are more common among the Bushmen, Efe pygmies and oddly enough, the Dutch. Nevertheless, the order of commonness: loop -> whorl -> arch, is the same everywhere.

Can fingerprints be forged?

Apparently it is not too difficult to fool a fingerprint security system. Check out this demonstration from MythBusters:

Can fingerprints be forged? – EduTube

43 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda Joyce permalink
    April 15, 2010 5:27 am

    I have a right hand 3rd (ring) finger with a radial loop. I cannot find information about this. Can you advise me?
    Thanks

    • July 24, 2013 2:52 pm

      Hi Brenda, i work with Chirology , hand reading , raidilal loop on Fire finger, creative finger, ring finger , represents .. Outwardly they are enthusiastic, friendly .. They may find or feel that they dont fit in , can be over responsive emotionally .. They tend to take responsibilty to any social gathering.Help others to enjoy themselves, and take much pleasure in their guests enjoyment.. ( from God given glyphs Jennifer Hirsch Book)

      Hope this you bit of insight

      Barry

  2. Ryan R permalink
    May 20, 2010 8:13 pm

    I have archs on all 10 fingers is this rare?

  3. roro permalink
    July 22, 2010 6:24 pm

    LOL I didn’t get on this page first but well i cant scan except to say the loops on the left hand ball shape is on the thumb part and to the little finger is the gap. this is face frontal.
    thanks thanks a lot :) a whole lot of gratitude :D :D :D

  4. January 31, 2011 12:20 am

    I have a perfect fingertip Peacock’s eye in the area of the palm close to the thumb

  5. April 11, 2011 2:53 am

    this is really fasinating!!! i just found out i have the peacocks eye on my thumb…it’s one of the rarist!!!
    everyone should go on this website!!!

    • April 11, 2011 7:53 am

      Hard to believe. It would be extremely rare. Can you send me a picture of your fingerprints. See contact for email. Have a nice day koen

  6. varun permalink
    April 12, 2011 2:00 pm

    I have whorls on all 10 fingers is this rare? please reply me to my mail.

  7. Aeva permalink
    April 22, 2011 1:14 am

    I remember studying this in forensics class and found it fascinating. I have ulnar loops on my pinkies, ring fingers and middle fingers, as well as on one thumb. The other has a peacock eye. Both index fingers are double loops. I don’t know why, but I find it odd that they aren’t symmetrical.

  8. Christina permalink
    April 22, 2011 11:21 pm

    I have all loops except for my left fourth finger. It’s a Whorl. Is this rare

  9. Brenda permalink
    April 30, 2011 6:37 pm

    My 14 year old son comes up to me today and shows me he has a finger print on his right palm. I think…”That’s strange….isn’t it?!” So the googling begins…and I learn it is most likely a whorl…or maybe a target whorl. If you could let me know if this is odd…or has a meaning.
    Thanks,
    Brenda (the mom)

  10. Brenda (Mom) permalink
    May 5, 2011 10:33 pm

    THANKYOU so much for replying….I have been researching and the part of his hand that the whorl is located on is called the moon zone…I believe. Right palm…lower left side. Thanks again for any additional info.
    Brenda (Mom)

    • sarah permalink
      January 20, 2013 2:47 am

      I have the same fingerprint in the same area of my palm…weird! What else did you find out? Thanks!

  11. narave permalink
    May 8, 2011 5:08 am

    i have 10 archs fingerprints. could you tell me what its mean?

    • September 29, 2013 7:33 pm

      Are you sure? This is very very rare

      • Rjane permalink
        October 25, 2013 8:05 am

        Yes,I also have 10 arches.I found that out at the police station, when I had my fingerprints taken for a new job. The officer joked that I should take care to stay out of trouble, since it would be easy to identify me and my 10 arches. Also when I took the Briggs-Meyers personality test, my results are INFJ. So I have a rare fingerprint and an uncommon personality.” Ain’t life grand!”

      • November 15, 2013 4:37 am

        Rjane,
        You won’t believe this, but so do I! I have no loops anywhere on any finger and am also an INFJ. Interesting.

  12. May 29, 2011 10:15 pm

    Hey! I’m feeling much appreciation for your awesome site and for categorizing this info :)

    I’d be really grateful if you could point me in the direction of more?

    I have a three interesting prints…

    1. Target whorl on right hand index finger with maybe 5 concentric circles (need to get proper prints)

    2. Peacocks eye or whorl on right palm, bottom left

    3. Target whorl or whorl on left palm, bottom right

    Thanks again,

    Love and Peace!

    Matt

  13. May 29, 2011 10:20 pm

    Just thought I’d add that I have loops on every other finger so I guess that makes me a “loopy” person ;) Be awesome to hear from you, cheers!

  14. manish bansal permalink
    August 3, 2011 6:18 pm

    I have the same peakcock’s eye symbol on both thumbs and all fingers… whats it astrological meaning in my life…..

    Manish Bansal
    12-10-1988

  15. koko permalink
    September 10, 2011 11:19 pm

    I have peacocks eyes on all fingers on my left hand including my thumb, but not on my right hand?!

    Strange or what!

    Koko x

  16. Amy permalink
    September 11, 2011 3:44 am

    I have a ‘s’ in the middle of my thumb fingerprint.
    Anyone know what this might mean? :3

  17. September 11, 2011 11:01 am

    @koko , quite rare . peacocks eye has the both capabilities of a loop and whorl. have a look at your fingerprints which is more dominating. whorl or loop

    @amy, ‘s’ is double loop. thumb is the ‘will’ finger, is not a loop but more a whorl type. The ‘ i want or i want not ‘ finger. Researchers have different opinions about this one.

  18. Koko permalink
    September 11, 2011 1:14 pm

    Just noticed I have a peacocks eye on my middle finger on my right hand as well but my right hand is all loops apart from the middle one.

    What does it mean to have peacocks on one hand and loops on the other?

    Koko

  19. nani permalink
    September 15, 2011 11:00 pm

    My friend has a very unusual fingerprint. It is on his left hand, and I think it is on the 4th finger. It looks like a splatter. Like a paintball gun or something……. Is this strange? I would love it if you replied

  20. nani permalink
    September 15, 2011 11:08 pm

    I also wanted to ask what is the rarest type of fingerprint?

  21. March 28, 2013 2:16 am

    I have peacock’s eyes on both of my thumbs. Huh. O.o

  22. July 2, 2013 2:05 pm

    Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely great. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a great website.

  23. Ajoy Chanda permalink
    August 5, 2013 4:12 pm

    I have ten whorl in all the ten fingers. Is this rare? what does this signify…

  24. balasaheb shinde permalink
    August 12, 2013 1:41 pm

    hi…
    I have all 10 figures with whorls pattern…will you please tell the meaning of that..?

  25. Fonstw permalink
    September 29, 2013 5:10 pm

    So, I have loops on every single finger (including thumb), with the exeption of my right ring finger (That one’s a whorl)
    Which made me wonder… Pretty much all about fingerprints, if different people have different fingerprints, ect…
    this helped me, and my curiosity for Biology, a lot!
    Thanks, Koen!

    (PS: I’m Dutch too, what a small world ;-) )

    • Alice permalink
      November 23, 2013 1:17 am

      Hello,I have
      Left hand
      thumb- Spiral Whorl
      Pointer Finger- Spiral Whorl
      Middle Finger- Spiral Whorl
      Ring Finger- Spiral Whorl
      Pinky- Peacock’s Eye
      Right Hand
      Thumb- Spiral Whorl
      Pointer Finger- Spiral Whorl
      Middle Finger- Spiral Whorl
      Ring Finger-Spiral Whorl
      Pinky-Imploding Whorl
      what does it signify?

  26. Anjali permalink
    January 13, 2014 2:55 pm

    i have
    LEFT HAND
    thumb- double loop
    index- tented arch
    middle- tented arch
    ring- tented arch
    pinky- tented arch

    RIGHT HAND
    thumb- ulnar loop
    index- tented arch
    middle- tented arch
    ring- tented arch
    pinky- tented arch

  27. victor masiolo permalink
    February 1, 2014 1:42 am

    hii gay im currently undertaking a course in fingerprint and im very happy to know more from this site thanks a lot.

  28. Mr. Secret permalink
    February 15, 2014 6:30 pm

    I have a Tented Arch, with a slight right curve on my Left Thumb & a Whorl on my Right Thumb. I’m Right Handed.. Is this RaRe?!

    Blood ? :Don’t Know. I think I’m A Positive.

    I’m English.
    Mums – Irish – A Positive Blood
    Dads – English 0 Negative Blood

    Anyone with a Decent Answer will Help…

  29. Dawn Paulino permalink
    March 1, 2014 12:05 am

    i have something really unusual and i have no idea where it came from.. i have dots in my fingerprints making it hard to tell what type of finger print i have, does it mean anything? its on all of my fingers.

  30. April 15, 2014 3:14 am

    I also have ten arches. One palm reader said that it meant I was a new soul. But it was contradicted by all of the lines on my palms. I’ve always wanted to get a second opinion.

    • April 15, 2014 8:54 pm

      Ten arches is very rare, are you sure? Fingerprints has nothing to do with your soul. Fingerprints is about genetics. The characteristics you have from your parents.

      • April 15, 2014 10:23 pm

        Yes I have ten arches if I could attach a picture I would. And out of our family of 7 I am the only one to have all ten the same.

  31. april permalink
    May 22, 2014 2:06 pm

    my left thumb fingerprint kinda look like ying and yang, is that normal?

Trackbacks

  1. “I’ve been for a walk on a winter’s day…” : Bad at Sports

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

